The Theodor Seuss Geisel Children’s Book Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is a children’s book award established in 2004 and first awarded in 2006. The Geisel award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Was Theodor Geisel and Dr. Seuss the Same Person?

Theodor Seuss Geisel, who you may know as Dr. Seuss, was born in 1904 and published 46 children’s books including The Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham, Horton Hears a Who, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

Every year one children’s book is chosen as the winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel award. Below is the list of winners since the award began in 2006.

Past Winners of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal

  • 2017 – We are Growing by Mo Willems and illustrated by Laurie Keller
  • 2016 – Don’t Throw it to Mo written by David A. Adler and illustrated by Sam Ricks
  • 2015 – You are (not) Small written by Anna Kang and illustrated by Christopher Weyant
  • 2014 – The Watermelon Seed by written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli
  • 2013 – Up, Tall and High! written and illustrated by Ethan Long
  • 2012 – Tales for Very Picky Eaters by Josh Schneider
  • 2011 – Bink and Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee
  • 2010 – Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! by Geoffrey Hayes
  • 2009 – Are You Ready to Play Outside by Mo Willems
  • 2008 – There is a Bird on Your Head by Mo Willems
  • 2007 – Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways by Laura McGee Kvasnosky
  • 2006 – Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Suçie Stevenson

In addition to medal winners, the American Library Association recognizes honors books.  To see the list of honors books, visit the Geisel Award Page.