The Children’s Choice Book Awards

The Children’s Choice Book Awards were established in 2008 to give children an opportunity to pick their favorite book. Each year beginning in March, voting is opened to allow children to vote for their favorite book which are then awarded in a Gala during National Book Week. The Children’s Book Council sponsors Children’s Book Week each year.

In its inaugural year, The Children’s Choice Book Award established five categories, Kindergarten to 2nd Grade Book of the Year, 3rd to 4th Grade Book of the Year, 5th to 6th Grade Book of the Year, Illustrator of the Year, and Author of the Year. In it’s 2nd year in 2009, a sixth category was awarded for Teen Book of the Year.

Past Winners of the Children’s Choice Book Award for Kindergarten to Second Graders

These award winning books are for readers in Kindergarten, 1st Grade, and 2nd Grade. Mo Willems seems to be a perrenial winner. Every year, I see Mo on at least one award winning list or honors list.

  • 2017 – Madeline Finn and the Library Dog, by Lisa Papp
  • 2016 – The Little Shop of Monsters, by R.L. Stine
  • 2015 – Eva and Sadie and the Worst Haircut EVER! by Jeff Cohen
  • 2014 – The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt
  • 2013 – Nighttime Ninja by Barbara DaCosta
  • 2012 – Three Hens and a Peacock by Henry Cole
  • 2011 – Little Pink Pup by Johanna Kirby
  • 2010 – Lulu the Big Little Chick by Paulette Bogan
  • 2009 – The Pigeon Wants a Puppy by Mo Willems
  • 2008 – Frankie Stein by Lola M. Schaefer

Past Winners of the Children’s Choice Book Award for Third to Fourth Graders

Award winning books for children in 3rd grade and 4th grade. It’s interesting the types of books that win this category as 3rd and 4th grade seems to be the year boys catch up and start reading more and probably have more influence in the voting.

  • 2017 – Once Upon an Elephant, by Linda Stanek illustrated by Shennen Bersani
  • 2016 – I’m Trying To Love Spiders by Bethany Barton
  • 2015 – Kali’s Story: An Orphaned Polar Bear Rescue by Jennifer Keats Curtis
  • 2014 – Bugs in My Hair! by David Shannon
  • 2013 – Bad Kitty for President by Nick Bruel
  • 2012 – Bad Kitty Meets the Baby by Nick Bruel
  • 2011 –  Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
  • 2010 –  Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitute by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
  • 2009 – Spooky Cemeteries by Dinah Williams
  • 2008 – Big Cats: Hunters of the Night by Elaine Landau

Past Winners of the Children’s Choice Book Award for Fifth to Sixth Graders

Award winning books for kids in 5th and 6th grades. Again boys books seem to dominate this category, although I do see the occassional girl’s titles. And yes, I do believe there are crossover books, but as the age goes up, these seem less and less.

  • 2017 – The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero by Rachel Renee Russell
  • 2016 – The Boy Who Crashed to Earth, book 1 of the Hilo series, by Judd Winick
  • 2015 – The Dumbest Idea Ever!, by Jimmy Gownley
  • 2014 – National Geographic Kids: Myth Busted, by Emily Krieger
  • 2013 – Tales from a Not-So-Graceful Ice Princess, book 4 of the Dork Diaries series, by Rachel Renée Russell
  • 2012 – Okay for Now, by Gary D. Schmidt
  • 2011 –  The Red Pyramid, book 1 of the Kane Chronicles, by Rick Riordan
  • 2010 – Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life, book 1 of the Dork Diaries series, by Rachel Renée Russell
  • 2009 – Thirteen, by Lauren Myracle
  • 2008 – Encyclopedia Horrifica: The Terrifying TRUTH! About Vampires, Ghosts, Monsters, and More, by Joshua Gee

Past Winners of the Children’s Choice Book Award for Teens

Award winning books for teens was established in 2009. The girls take their revenge in this category, since the boys are typically playing football and chasing girls instead of reading books.


  • 2017 – The Crooked Kingdom, by Leigh Bardugo
  • 2016 – All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven
  • 2015 – The One by Kiera Cass
  • 2014 – Allegiant by Veronica Roth
  • 2013 – The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green
  • 2012 – Clockwork Prince, book 2 of the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
  • 2011 –  Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan
  • 2010 – Catching Fire, book 2 of the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins
  • 2009 – Breaking Dawn, book 4 of the Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer


About the Children’s Book Council

“The Children’s Book Council, established in 1945, is the nonprofit trade association of publishers of trade books for children and young adults in the United States. The CBC promotes the use and enjoyment of trade books for young people, most prominently as the official sponsor of Children’s Book Week, the longest running literacy event in the country. The goal of the Children’s Book Council is to make the reading and enjoyment of books for young people an essential part of America’s educational and social goals, as well as to enhance the public perception of the importance of reading by disseminating information about books for young people and about children’s book publishing.”

For more information about the CBC and the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, go to the Children’s Book Council website.”