E.B. White Read-Aloud Children’s Book Award

E.B. White is famous for children’s books like Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and the Trumpet and the Swan. The award was established in 2004 by the Association for Booksellers for Children.  The older readers award was added in 2006.  In 2011, ABC merged with the American Bookseller Association awards and are the E.B. White Awards are presented in conjunction with the Indies Children’s Books Awards with the original Read Aloud Awards for Older Readers has been renamed to the E.B White Award for Middle Readers.

Today, the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award is presented annually by the American Booksellers Association to books with universal appeal to being read aloud. Two awards are given out in honor of E.B. White, an Award for Picture Books and an Award for Middle Readers, along with a list of honors books.


Past Winners E.B. of the White Read-Aloud Middle Reader Award

  • 2017 – The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
  • 2016 – The Thing About Jellyfish, by Ali Benjamin
  • 2015 – Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson
  • 2014 – Flora and Ulysses, by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell
  • 2013 – Wonder, by R.J. Palacio
  • 2012 – The Apothecary, by Maile Meloy, illustrated by Ian Schoenherr
  • 2011 – The Strange Case of Yoda Origami, by Tom Angleberger
  • 2010 – The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z., by Kate Messner
  • 2009 – Masterpiece, by Elise Broach, illustrated by Kelly Murphy
  • 2008 – The Mysterious Benedict Society, by Trenton Lee Stewart
  • 2007 – Alabama Moon, by Watt Key
  • 2006 – Each Little Bird That Sings, by Deborah Wiles

Past Winners of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Picture Book Award

  • 2017 – Du Iz Tak? by Carson Ellis.
  • 2016 – Mother Bruce, by Ryan T. Higgins
  • 2015 – Sam and Dave Dig a Hole, by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen
  • 2014 – The Day the Crayons Quit, by Drew Daywalt, illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
  • 2013 – Extra Yarn, by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen
  • 2012 – I Want My Hat Back, by Jon Klassen
  • 2011 – Children Make Terrible Pets , by Peter Brown
  • 2010 – The Curious Garden, by Peter Brown
  • 2009 – A Visitor for Bear, by Bonny Becker
  • 2008 – When Dinosaurs Came With Everything, by Elise Broach, illustrated by David Small
  • 2007 – Houndsley and Catina, by James Howe, illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay
  • 2006 – If I Built a Car, by Chris Van Dusen
  • 2005 – Wild About Books, by Judy Sierra, illustrated by Marc Brown
  • 2004 – SkippyJon Jones, by Judith Byron Schachner